The Sound Doctor: Black Ark Singles And Dub Plates (Discontinued)

Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer

A World of Vinyl

(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
Previous Next

The Sound Doctor: Black Ark Singles And Dub Plates (Discontinued) - Vinyl Record

by Lee Perry and the Sufferers

0% Financing for 6 months

Product Code:
Pressure Sounds
Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed
'The Sound Doctor' is a 24 track set and follows 'High Plains Drifter' put out in mid February, and documents Lee Perry’s recordings of the dreads, rastas and sufferers in 70’s Kingston.

The album collects remastered and previously unavailable Lee Perry productions of artists such as Junior Byles, U-Roy, Dillinger and The Ethiopians as well as more obscure performers, including Brother Roy and Jah T.

The tracks were recorded in three different Kingston Studios – Dynamic, Randy’s and Lee Perry’s own Black Ark – with some of the finest musicians, and amongst them were Sly & Robbie, Augustus Pablo, Winston Wright, Earl “Chinna” Smith, Bobby Ellis and Theophilius Beckford.

1. Oppression- Delroy Butler
2. Army of Love - Junior Byles (Previously unreleased)
3. Wam-Pam-Pa-Do - Dillinger
4. Sound Doctor - Bobby Floyd
5. Doctor Skank –Young Dellinger
6. Horny Train - The Upsetters (Exclusive Dub Plate Mix)
7. Do Good - Al Maytone
8. Different Experience- Brother Roy
9. Smiling Faces - Tinga Stewart
10. Smiling version - Hux Brown Group
11. Be Prepared - Keith Poppin
12. 006 - U Roy

1. Key Card - Lee & Jimmy
2. Domino Game- The Upsetters
3. Message To The Nation - Tony Fearon
4. Dub Message – Upsetters
5. Water your Garden - The Flames
6. Standing On The Hill-Chenley Duffus
7. Start Over - The Gatherers
8. Its Impossible - The Ethiopians
9. Grandfather Land - Jah T
10. King of Kings - Pat Francis
11. King of Kings Version - the Upsetters
12. To Hell and Back - Count Stocky & The Upsetters

There are no reviews for this product.


Vinyl records are able to capture the purest quality of recorded music in true form. This is possible because the initial recording is captured on an analog source (usually tape) for the ultimate in High Fidelity sound, it is then pressed onto virgin vinyl. Analog recordings capture the bottom end (or bass) while adding sweetness to the high end (or treble) better than any digital recording ever could. Analog systems are still commonly used before they are digitally transferred to CD. This means that the sound then is altered in the transfer process when CD's are produced. The word fidelity means accuracy and faithfulness. High Fidelity sound is faithful to the original sound made by the artist, capturing maximum accuracy of what was intended for the listener to hear. Vinyl records capture those sounds for the ultimate High Fidelity listening experience!

180/200 GRAM Vinyl LP

These vinyl records are produced with 180 or 200 grams of high definition premium grade virgin vinyl. This is a higher quality audiophile pressing than the typical vinyl record of 100-120 grams. These limited edition LP's are manufactured with the hi-fi enthusiast in mind. A 180 or 200 gram LP is sometimes also referred to as an audiophile pressing, there is a higher bass response and an even warmer High Fidelity sound. 180 or 200 grams LP's are typically manufactured in limited amounts and are considered collectibles, commanding a higher price.


Typically, a vinyl reissue is a repressing of an original LP, usually extracted from the recording's master-tapes. In some cases, reissues are remastered to lower surface noise and improve overall sonics. Reissues help preserve the music of an original recording, especially when original LPs become unavailable or can no longer be found. Reissues can be pressed on a variety of thickness from 150 gram to 200 gram and offer a great opportunity for records collectors to own many classic recordings.

Customers who bought The Sound Doctor: Black Ark Singles And Dub Plates (Discontinued), also bought:

There are no reviews for this product.

Go to top