The Atlantic Years (Box Set)

Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
Previous Next

The Atlantic Years (Box Set) - Vinyl Record

by Ornette Coleman

Add product to the cart

0% Financing for 6 months

Usually ships in 7-10 business days
Product Code:
180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP Box Set - 10 LPs Sealed
10x 180 Gram Vinyl Box Set

Remastered By John Webber At AIR Studios

Ornette Coleman recorded one of the greatest bodies of work in jazz during a 22-month-long burst of creativity. Between 1959 and 1961, the saxophonist and composer released six studio albums on Atlantic Records that helped usher in the avant-garde, free jazz movement.

Those albums, along more than two hours of session outtakes, are featured together in the 10-LP boxed set ORNETTE COLEMAN: THE ATLANTIC YEARS, featuring newly remastered audio by John Webber at AIR Studios. Several of these titles are long out-of-print on vinyl. The Ornette Coleman Legacy, featuring six songs originally released for the first time in 1993 as part of Rhinoís CD boxed set Beauty Is A Rare Thing, making its vinyl debut.

On most of his Atlantic albums, Coleman recorded with a quartet that included trumpeter Don Cherry, plus either Charlie Haden or Scott LaFaro on bass, and either Billy Higgins or Ed Blackwell on drums. One notable exception is Free Jazz, a ground-breaking single-track album where Coleman led a double quartet through a nearly 40-minute collective improvisation. The stereo mix used for the album separates the quartets into different channels; one on the right and the other on the left.

Coleman worked extensively with producer Nesuhi Ertegun on the music featured in this collection. Their partnership began in 1959 with Colemanís Atlantic debut, The Shape of Jazz To Come, an album the Library of Congress added to its National Recording Registry in 2012.

Among the albums included in THE ATLANTIC YEARS are three compilations that Atlantic released in the 1970ís: The Art Of Improvisers (1970), Twins (1971), and To Whom Who Keeps A Record (1975.) These albums include outtakes from recording sessions for all six of Colemanís studio albums.

LP 1
1. Lonely Woman
2. Eventually
3. Peace
4. Focus On Sanity
5. Congeniality
6. Chronology

LP 2
1. Ramblin'
2. Free
3. The Face Of The Bass
4. Forerunner
5. Bird Food
6. Una Muy Bonita
7. Change Of The Century

LP 3
1. P.S. Unless One Has (Blues Connotation)
2. Beauty Is A Rare Thing
3. Kaleidoscope
4. Embraceable You
5. Poise
6. Humpty Dumpty
7. Folk Tale

LP 4
1. Free Jazz (Part 1)
2. Free Jazz-Part 2

LP 5
1. W.R.U. (Remastered Version)
2. T & T (Remastered Version)
3. C. & D. (Remastered Version)
4. R.P.D.D (Remastered Version)

LP 6
1. Cross Breeding
2. Mapa
3. Enfant
4. EOS
5. Ecars

LP 7
1. The Circle With A Hole In The Middle
2. Just For You
3. The Fifth Of Beethoven
4. The Alchemy Of Scott Lafaro
5. Moon Inhabitants
6. The Legend Of Bebop
7. Harlem's Manhattan

LP 8
1. First Take
2. Little Symphony
3. Monk And The Nun
4. Check Up
5. Joy Of A Toy

LP 9
1. Music Always
2. Brings Goodness
3. To Us
4. All
5. P.S. Unless One has (Blues Connotation No. 2)
6. Some Other
7. Motive For Its Use

LP 10
1. Rise And Shine
2. The Tribes Of New York
3. I Heard It Over The Radio
4. Revolving Doors
5. Mr. And Mrs. People
6. Proof Readers

There are no reviews for this product.


Vinyl records are able to capture the purest quality of recorded music in true form. This is possible because the initial recording is captured on an analog source (usually tape) for the ultimate in High Fidelity sound, it is then pressed onto virgin vinyl. Analog recordings capture the bottom end (or bass) while adding sweetness to the high end (or treble) better than any digital recording ever could. Analog systems are still commonly used before they are digitally transferred to CD. This means that the sound then is altered in the transfer process when CD's are produced. The word fidelity means accuracy and faithfulness. High Fidelity sound is faithful to the original sound made by the artist, capturing maximum accuracy of what was intended for the listener to hear. Vinyl records capture those sounds for the ultimate High Fidelity listening experience!

180/200 GRAM Vinyl LP

These vinyl records are produced with 180 or 200 grams of high definition premium grade virgin vinyl. This is a higher quality audiophile pressing than the typical vinyl record of 100-120 grams. These limited edition LP's are manufactured with the hi-fi enthusiast in mind. A 180 or 200 gram LP is sometimes also referred to as an audiophile pressing, there is a higher bass response and an even warmer High Fidelity sound. 180 or 200 grams LP's are typically manufactured in limited amounts and are considered collectibles, commanding a higher price.


Typically, a vinyl reissue is a repressing of an original LP, usually extracted from the recording's master-tapes. In some cases, reissues are remastered to lower surface noise and improve overall sonics. Reissues help preserve the music of an original recording, especially when original LPs become unavailable or can no longer be found. Reissues can be pressed on a variety of thickness from 150 gram to 200 gram and offer a great opportunity for records collectors to own many classic recordings.

Customers who bought The Atlantic Years (Box Set), also bought:

There are no reviews for this product.

Go to top