Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '

Al Jarreau

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Do The Right Thing Do The Right Thing Quick View

    Buy Now

    Do The Right Thing

    The soundtrack for director Spike Lee's Do the Right Thing is a window into the classics hip-hop/R&B scene circa 1989. Peppered with new jack era slabs of wax from the likes of Public Enemy (the iconic Fight the Power), summer party staples from E.U. (Party Hearty) and Teddy Riley (My Fantasy), and deep slow jams from Perri and Al Jarreau, it's the perfect background for a hot night in the city, and like the film itself, it's both frivolous and foreboding.
    1. Fight the Power
    2. My Fantasy
    3. Party Hearty
    4. Can't Stand It
    5. Why Don't We Try?
    6. Feel So Good
    7. Don't Shoot Me
    8. Hard to Say
    9. Prove to Me
    10. Never Explain Love
    11. Tu y Yo/We Love [Jingle]
    Various Artists
    Vinyl LP Reissue - Sealed Buy Now
  • Breakin' Away Breakin' Away Quick View

    Buy Now

    Breakin' Away


    Breakin' Away is a great follow-up of Soul crooner Al Jarreau to his previous album This Time. The album was released on in 1981 andbecame the standard bearer of the L.A. Pop and R&B sound. The album was certified Platinum by the RIAA.

    Breakin' Away assumes its own identity with brilliant results. Closer To Your Love comes off as a tougher, more confident version of the songs from the previous album. Easy with its gorgeous and subtle Latin flourishes has Jarreau's purposeful delivery coming off oddly poignant in its joy and beauty. The hit We're in This Love Together is on the album, just as the bittersweet My Old Friend. Jarreau brings new life to Teach Me Tonight and it has a sweeping, dreamy arrangement. But the album of course contains the biggest hit of all, Roof Garden, with Al's inimitable vocal delivery.

    The album was created with an amazing producer/artist chemistry, and top-level players like George Duke, David Foster, Dean Parks, and Steve Gadd can be heard on this record.

    1. Closer To Your Love
    2. My Old Friend
    3. We're In This Love Together
    4. Easy
    5. Our Love
    6. Breakin' Away
    7. Roof Garden
    8. Blue Rondo A La Turk
    9. Teach Me Tonight
    Al Jarreau
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top