Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer

A World of Vinyl

Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '

Albert King Born Under A Bad Sign

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Born Under A Bad Sign Born Under A Bad Sign Quick View

    Buy Now

    Born Under A Bad Sign

    Born Under a Bad Sign is the second studio album by Albert King, originally released in 1967. It is composed of singles released by King recorded between March 3, 1966, and June 9, 1967, with additional studio tracks. Providing accompaniment to Albert King, who sang and played lead guitar, were the Stax in-house recording session band, Booker T. & the MG's, featuring the Memphis Horns.
    1. Born Under A Bad Sign
    2. Crosscut Saw
    3. Kansas City
    4. Oh, Pretty Woman
    5. Down Don't Bother Me
    6. The Hunter
    7. I Almost Lost My Mind
    8. Personal Manager
    9. Laundromat Blues
    10. As The Years Go Passing By
    11. The Very Thought Of You
    Albert King
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Talk To Your Daughter Talk To Your Daughter Quick View

    Buy Now

    Talk To Your Daughter


    On his 1988 solo effort Talk To Your Daughter, singer/guitarist Robben Ford proves himself a master of sophisticated Blues-Rock guitar playing. The material is quite strong, and all the musicians perform at the highest level, but it's Ford's stellar soloing that makes this release. Fans of flailing '80s Rock virtuosos would do well to check out Ford's exceptional work on Talk To Your Daughter. The musician's colorful yet controlled improvising and harmonic mastery is a rare and beautiful sonic treat.

    The title track is dripping with soulful, well-placed guitar lines that play like a master lesson of up-tempo blues phrasing that guitarists would do well to study. Other standouts include Albert King's Born Under a Bad Sign (which was used in Clint Eastwood's feature film Pink Cadillac) and Ain't Got Nothin' But the Blues.

    The fine arrangements and especially Vinnie Colaiuta's sharp drumming are all tightly wound with crisp, clear production that tops off the title track making it a shining success. The album also features Toto's Jeff Porcaro on drums on I Got Over It. Listeners fond of Ford's work with the Yellowjackets and numerous side gigs, as well as guitarists and all musicians, should enjoy this very professional, succinctly executed offering. First rate!

    1. Talk To Your Daughter
    2. Wild About You (Can't Hold Out Much Longer)
    3. Help The Poor
    4. Ain't Got Nothin' But The Blues
    5. Born Under A Bad Sign
    6. I Got Over It
    7. Revelation
    8. Getaway
    9. Can't Let Her Go
    Robben Ford
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top