Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer

A World of Vinyl

Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '

Art Tatum

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Us Three (Pre-Order) Us Three (Pre-Order) Quick View

    Buy Now

    Us Three (Pre-Order)

    Cut At 33 1/3 RPM By Kevin Gray At Cohearent Audio From The Original Rudy Van Gelder Blue Note Master Tapes

    Pressed On 180 Gram Virgin Vinyl LP By RTI

    Top Quality Gatefold Packaging With Laminated Covers & High Quality Session Photos

    Us Three, featuring pianist Horace Parlan, bassist George Tucker and drummer Al Harewood, is one of Blue Note's greatest trio albums. The piano-bass-drums trio has long been the most compact of all jazz combos, a complete orchestra with just three pieces. Some trios have been completely dominated by its pianist including the Oscar Peterson and Art Tatum Trios. The trio on Us Three is a bit different for it features three superior jazz men who constantly play off of each other, communicating immediately and telepathically in sensitive yet funky interactions. Horace Parlan, already well known at 29 and a member of the Lou Donaldson Quartet, was perfect for the trio format in 1960. His soulful chordal style matches very well with the subtle contributions of George Tucker and Al Harewood. There are some very memorable originals and the trio makes some superior standards sound as if they were written for them. The members of Us Three seem to think as one and the resulting music, which has sonics never before realized, is fantastic.


    Limited Edition of Only 3500 Copies

    Remastered from the Original Rudy Van Gelder Blue Note Master Tapes

    Remastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio

    Pressed on 180 gram Virgin Vinyl LP by RTI

    Ultra-Durable, Extra Thick Album Jackets

    Gatefold Album with Session Photos in stunning High Resolution


    This title is not eligible for discount.

    Horace Parlan
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed PRE-ORDER Buy Now
  • The Piano Scene Of Ahamd Jamal (Speaker Corner) The Piano Scene Of Ahamd Jamal (Speaker Corner) Quick View

    Buy Now

    The Piano Scene Of Ahamd Jamal (Speaker Corner)

    The early recordings made by Ahmad Jamal for the Epic label have disappeared into the annals of jazz history. His trio with bass and drums, however, was certainly a whole lot more famous in clubs, at festivals and in TV shows in the Fifties. The present LP contains twelve numbers performed by a trio composed of a guitar and bass or drums - Ray Crawford, Eddie Calhoun, Walter Perkins only being known to a handful of jazz fans - and only a few compositions of his own, most titles are favourites from musicals of the day. Ahmad Jamal reveals the influence of Art Tatum and Nat King Cole in his performance, whereby his masterly art and independent style is already recognizable. The trios are quite unique in themselves, although the hierarchy is unchangeable: Ahmad Jamal is and remains the boss; he performs the majority of the solos.

    A special highlight is surely the first version of Billy Boy. And not only Miles Davis praised the pianist for his technical prowess and wealth of ideas. Aki And Ukthay (Brother and Sister) also offers the possibility to admire Jamal's pianistic proficiency. What a good idea to bring out these early recordings once more for jazz lovers! Especially because the Epic label is truly underestimated in the record market. The recording quality is absolutely impeccable - a true listener's gem.


    • Ahmad Jamal (piano)

    • Ray Crawford (guitar)

    • Eddie Calhoun (bass)

    • Walter Perkins (drums)

    Recording: 1951 and 1955

    About Speakers Corner

    At the beginning of the 90s, in the early days of audiophile vinyl re-releases, the situation was fairly straightforward. Companies such as DCC, Mobile Fidelity, Classic Records and, of course, Speakers Corner all maintained a mutual, unwritten ethical code: we would only use analogue tapes to manufacture records.

    During the course of the present vinyl hype, many others have jumped on the bandwagon in the hope of securing a corner of the market. Very often they are not so ethical and use every imaginable source to master from: CDs, LPs, digital files, MP3s - or employed existant tools from the 80s and 90s for manufacturing.

    A digital delay is gladly used when cutting a lacquer disc because tape machines with an analogue delay have become quite rare and are therefore expensive. When cutting the lacquer, the audio signal is delayed by one LP revolution against the signal, which controls the cutter head, and for this a digital delay is very often employed. Of course, the resultant sound signal is completely digital and thus only as good as this delay.

    We should like to emphasise that Speakers Corner Records on principle only uses the original master tape as the basis for the entirely analogue cutting of lacquer discs. In addition, the pressing tool is newly manufactured as a matter of principle. We have one digital recording in our catalogue (Alan Parsons / Eye In The Sky"), but even in this particular case we used the analogue tapes for cutting.

    We only employ existing tools for manufacturing if an improved result is not forthcoming, e.g. the title Elvis Is Back, which was mastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray, or several titles from our Philips Classics series, which in any case Willem Makkee cut from the original masters at the Emil Berliner Studios in the 90s. It goes without saying that we only used the mother and that new tools were made for our production.

    To put it in a nutshell: we can ensure you that our releases are free from any kind of digital effects - excluding the exception above - and that the lacquer discs are newly cut.

    This title is not eligible for discount.

    1. Old Devil Moon
    2. Ahmad's Blues
    3. Poinciana
    4. Billy Boy
    5. Will You Still Be Mine
    6. Pavanne
    7. Crazy He Calls Me
    8. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
    9. Aki And Ukthay
    10. Slaughter On 10th Avenue
    11. A Gal In Calico
    12. It's Easy To Remember
    Ahamd Jamal
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • The Art Tatum & Ben Webster Quartet (Out Of Stock) The Art Tatum & Ben Webster Quartet (Out Of Stock) Quick View


    The Art Tatum & Ben Webster Quartet (Out Of Stock)


    Los Angeles, California, September 11, 1956

    1. All The Things You Are
    2. Gone With The Wind
    3. Have You Met Miss Jones?
    4. Night and Day
    5. Where or When
    6. My Ideal
    7. My One And Only
    Ben Webster & Art Tatum
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Temporarily out of stock
  • 1
Go to top