Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20

By Artist / Manufacturer

By Genre / Model

Home > Products for: '

Ascenseur Pour L'echafaud

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud Quick View

    Buy Now

    Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud

    Miles Davis' Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud - Elevator to the Gallows - is without a doubt one a landmark in the
    trumpeter's discography but also in the history of soundtrack. The themes improvised during the legendary
    recording session made in Paris have now become standards in jazz and keep on fascinating new generations of
    listeners. To celebrate this film music 60th anniversary, we're releasing a 10" 3LP collector's edition.

    LP 1
    1. GÉnÉrique (BOF Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud)
    2. L'assassinat de Carala (BOF Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud)
    3. Sur l'autoroute (BOF Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud)
    4. Julien dans l'ascenseur (BOF Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud)
    5. Florence sur les Champs-ÉlysÉes (BOF Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud)
    6. Dîner au motel (BOF Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud)
    7. Évasion de Julien (BOF Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud)
    8. Visite du vigile (BOF Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud)

    9. Au bar du Petit Bac (BOF Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud)
    10. Chez le photographe du motel (BOF Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud)

    LP 2
    1. Nuit sur les Champs-ÉlysÉes (Take 1)
    2. Nuit sur les ChampsÉlysÉes (Take 2)
    3. Nuit sur les Champs-ÉlysÉes (Take 3)
    4. Nuit sur les Champs-ÉlysÉes (Take 4)

    LP 3
    1. Assassinat (Take 1)
    2. Assassinat (Take 2)
    3. Assassinat (Take 3)
    4. Dîner au motel (Take 2)

    5. Final (Take 1)
    6. Final (Take 2)

    Miles Davis
    10 Vinyl LP - 3 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud (2LP) Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud (2LP) Quick View

    Buy Now

    Ascenseur Pour L'Echafaud (2LP)


    Ascenseur Pour L'Échafaud is a 1958 French film directed by Louis Malle. It was released as Lift to the Scaffold in the UK. The film was nothing special, but it did accomplish one thing: it proposed a new ideal of cinematic realism, a new way to look at a woman. Jean-Paul Rappeneau, a jazz fan and Malle's assistant at the time, suggested asking Miles Davis to create the film's Soundtrack. He showed Davis a screening of the movie, and afterwards Miles knew exactly how to portray the smoky hazed or frantic scenes through sonic imagery. On December 4 1957, he brought four French Jazzmen (Barney Wilen / tenor saxophone, RenÉ Urtreger / piano, Pierre Michelot bass and Kenny Clarke drums) to the recording studio Le Poste Parisien Studio without having them prepare anything. Davis only gave the musicians a few rudimentary harmonic sequences he had assembled in his hotel room. Eventually Ascenseur Pour L'Échafaud has become a great achievement of artistic excellence.

    For the first time since its original release in 1958, Music On Vinyl combined the original soundtrack and the additional recordings and created an essential 2LP set with the original artwork.

    Side 1 (ORIGINAL 1958 A-SIDE)
    1. GÉnÉrique
    2. L'Assassinat De Carala
    3. Sur L'Autoroute
    4. Julien Dans L'Ascenseur
    5. Florence Sur Les Champs-Élysees

    Side 2 (ORIGINAL 1958 B-SIDE)
    1. Dîner Au Motel
    2. Évasion De Julien
    3. Visite Du Vigile
    4. Au Bar Du Petit Bac
    5. Chez Le Photographe Du Mot

    Side 3
    1. Nuit Sur Les Champs-ÉlysÉes (TAKE 1)
    2. Nuit Sur Les Champs-ÉlysÉes (TAKE 2)
    3. Nuit Sur Les Champs-ÉlysÉes (TAKE 3)
    4. Nuit Sur Les Champs Elysees (TAKE 4)
    5. Assassinat Visite Du Vigil
    6. Assassinat Julien Dans L'ascenseur
    7. Assassinat L'Assassinat De Carala
    8. Motel

    Side 4
    1. Final (TAKE 1)
    2. Final (TAKE 2)
    3. Final (TAKE 3)
    4. Ascenseur
    5. Le Petit Bal (TAKE 1)
    6. Le Petit Bal (TAKE 2)
    7. SÉquence Voiture (TAKE 1)
    8. Sequence Voiture Sur L'Aut (TAKE 2)

    Miles Davis
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • Jazz Track (Out Of Stock) Jazz Track (Out Of Stock) Quick View


    Jazz Track (Out Of Stock)

    Originally released in 1958, Jazz Track is comprised of two distinct sessions (one on each side). Side 1 features Miles' brilliantly improvised soundtrack to the Louis Malle noir classic Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud while side 2 is a 1958 NYC session featuring that includes the unreal band of John Coltrane, Cannonball Adderley, Bill Evans, Paul Chambers, and Jimmy Cobb - the very first recordings from the band that would go on to make Kind Of Blue the following year. Another important piece of jazz history reissued by Doxy. The bonus CD includes two bonus tracks taken from the same session as side 2 of the LP.
    Side 1: Elevator to the Scaffold (L'Ascenseur pour l'Échafaud)

    Original music of the film, composed by Miles Davis

    1. GÉnÉrique
    2. L'assassinat de Carala
    3. Sur l'autoroute
    4. Julien dans l'ascenseur
    5. Florence sur les Champs-ÉlysÉes
    6. Diner au motel
    7. Evasion de Julien
    8. Visite du vigile
    9. Au Bar du Petit Bac
    10. Chez le Photographe du motel

    SIDE 2:
    11. On Green Dolphin Street
    12. Put Your Little Foot Right Out
    13. Stella by Starlight

    14. Love For Sale
    15. Little Melonae

    Miles Davis
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP + CD - Sealed Temporarily out of stock
  • 1
Go to top