Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '

Bohemia After Dark

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Bohemia After Dark Bohemia After Dark Quick View

    Buy Now

    Bohemia After Dark

    Cannonball's FIRST recordings now back on vinyl!
    1. Bohemia After Dark
    2. Chasm
    3. Willow Weep For Me
    4. Late Entry
    5. Hear Me Talkin' To Ya
    6. With Apologies To Oscar
    7. We'll Be Together Again
    Cannonball Adderley & Nat Adderley
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Oscar Pettiford: Volume 2 (Pure Pleasure) Oscar Pettiford: Volume 2 (Pure Pleasure) Quick View

    Buy Now

    Oscar Pettiford: Volume 2 (Pure Pleasure)

    Oscar Pettiford became a major influence on a number of jazz artists along with fellow bassists Jimmy Blanton and Charles Mingus. This album titles as Volume 2 or Another One, Pettiford's third album as a leader for the Bethlehem label, was recorded in 1955. This exceptional date features the horns of Donald Byrd, Ernie Royal, Bob Brookmeyer, Gigi Gryce, and Jerome Richardson. Highlights include the Pettiford-penned Bohemia After Dark, named after the club in Greenwich Village and acknowledged as a jazz standard, Stardust, featuring Pettiford's poetic bass faintly accompanied by pianist Don Abney, and Minor Seventh Heaven, with Pettiford switching to cello. This is not just a bebop date; Pettiford had the range to incorporate influences like Duke Ellington and calypso, creating a full, lyrical band sound that matched his bass playing. Pettiford's legacy was cut short after he passed away suddenly in 1958 in Copenhagen at the age of 37.


    • Donald Byrd, Ernie Royal (trumpet)

    • Bob Brookmeyer (trombone)

    • Gigi Gryce (alto saxophone, clarinet)

    • Jerome Richardson (tenor saxophone, clarinet, flute)

    • Don Abney (piano)

    • Oscar Pettiford (bass. cello)

    • Osie Johnson (drums)

    Recording: August 1955 in New York City

    About Pure Pleasure

    At the beginning of the 90s, in the early days of audiophile vinyl re-releases, the situation was fairly straightforward. Companies such as DCC, Mobile Fidelity, Classic Records and, of course, Pure Pleasure all maintained a mutual, unwritten ethical code: we would only use analogue tapes to manufacture records.

    During the course of the present vinyl hype, many others have jumped on the bandwagon in the hope of securing a corner of the market. Very often they are not so ethical and use every imaginable source to master from: CDs, LPs, digital files, MP3s - or employed existent tools from the 80s and 90s for manufacturing.

    A digital delay is gladly used when cutting a lacquer disc because tape machines with an analogue delay have become quite rare and are therefore expensive. When cutting the lacquer, the audio signal is delayed by one LP revolution against the signal, which controls the cutter head, and for this a digital delay is very often employed. Of course, the resultant sound signal is completely digital and thus only as good as this delay.

    We should like to emphasize that Pure Pleasure Records on principle only uses the original master tape as the basis for the entirely analogue cutting of lacquer discs. In addition, the pressing tool is newly manufactured as a matter of principle.

    We only employ existing tools for manufacturing if an improved result is not forthcoming, e.g. the title Elvis Is Back, which was mastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray, or several titles from our Philips Classics series, which in any case Willem Makkee cut from the original masters at the Emil Berliner Studios in the 90s. It goes without saying that we only used the mother and that new tools were made for our production.

    To put it in a nutshell: we can ensure you that our releases are free from any kind of digital effects and that the lacquer discs are newly cut.

    1. Kamman's A-Comin
    2. Minor 7th Heaven
    3. Stardust
    4. Bohemia After Dark
    5. Oscalypso
    6. Scorpio
    7. Titoro
    8. Don't Squawk
    9. Another One
    Oscar Pettiford
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top