Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '

Cal Tjader

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Cal Tjader's Latin Concert Cal Tjader's Latin Concert Quick View

    Buy Now

    Cal Tjader's Latin Concert

    As Cal Tjader's reputation and popularity grew as one of the major forces in Afro-Cuban jazz, he was able to hire some of the music's most able artists. On this 1958 album, recorded at San Francisco's famous Black Hawk, his band included percussionists Mongo Santamaria and Willie Bobo, pianist Vince Guaraldi, and bassist Al McKibbon, a veteran of the Dizzy Gillespie band that opened American ears to the charms and urgencies of Afro-Cuban rhythms. Having Al in the band, Tjader once said, is an impossible dream come true. Among the pieces here are several by Tjader and one that was destined to become a classic in the literature of Latin jazz, Ray Bryant's Cubano Chant.
    1. Viva Cepeda
    2. Mood for Milt
    3. The Continental
    4. Lucero
    5. Tu Crees Que?
    6. Mi Guaguanco
    7. Cubano Chant
    8. A Young Love
    9. Theme
    Cal Tjader
    Vinyl LP Reissue - Sealed Buy Now
  • Dave Brubeck Octet Dave Brubeck Octet Quick View

    Buy Now

    Dave Brubeck Octet

    The listener has to forgive a few things about this undeniably brilliant collection of Dave Brubeck's first big ensemble. First: the liner notes' pretentions. Brubeck announces there that between 1946, when some of these tunes were recorded, and 1956, when the tapes were first reissued on LP, very few released recordings have more musical importance than the octet. Second: the nearly seven minutes of How High the Moon narrated to show how jazz was formed, as the band plays in short demonstrative segments. Third: the audio vÉritÉ sound, which even Brubeck thought questionable in 1956.

    Hearing this dynamic set, though, makes forgiveness easy. The arrangements show a wild abundance of color and orchestral finesse (many of the group's members were, like Brubeck, students of Darius Milhaud). You get quick-clip swingers like The Way You Looked Tonight and the string of chamber-esque horn studies that includes Schizophrenic Scherzo and more. You also get to hear early Paul Desmond and William O. Smith bouncing ideas off each other and drummer Cal Tjader. And it's all a delight, especially with the magnanimity of forgiving Brubeck. --Andrew Bartlett

    1. The Way You Look Tonight
    2. Love Walked In
    3. What Is This Thing Called Love?
    4. September in the Rain
    5. Prelude
    6. Fugue on Bop Themes
    7. Let's Fall in Love
    8. Ipca
    9. How High the Moon
    10. Serenade Suite
    11. Playland at the Beach
    12. The Prisoner's Song
    13. Schizophrenic Scherzo
    14. Rondo
    15. I Hear a Rhapsody
    16. You Go To My Head
    17. Laura
    18. Closing Theme
    Dave Brubeck Octet
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Stan Getz / Cal Tjader Sextet Stan Getz / Cal Tjader Sextet Quick View

    Buy Now

    Stan Getz / Cal Tjader Sextet

    This Newly Reissued Vinyl Addition Is A 'Must Have' Title For For Both Getz And Tjader Fans.

    In the vein of many a smooth West Coast jazz outing, this 1958 disc finds original cool stylist Getz paired with vibraphonist Cal Tjader on a very enjoyable
    selection of jazz standards and Tjader originals. The lineup includes pianist Vince Guaraldi, guitarist Eddie Duran, bassist Scott La Faro, and drummer
    Billy Higgins (this was one of the earliest record dates for either La Faro or Higgins, both of whom were playing with Getz at San Francisco's Black Hawk
    in between recording sessions). Guaraldi's spry Ginza Samba kicks thing off with nimble and imaginative statements by all the soloists. Tjader's
    swinging originals Crow's Nest and Big Bear provide prime solo vehicles as well, while his lovely waltz number Liz-Anne adds some nice contrast to
    the set, eliciting one of Getz's best solos in the process. The group rounds things out with fine ballad readings of I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face
    and For All We Know.

    Stan Getz: one of the all-time great tenor saxophonists

    Cal Tjader: The legendary percussionist who is often linked to the development of Latin rock and acid jazz. Although fusing jazz with Latin music is often
    categorized as Latin jazz (or, earlier, Afro-Cuban jazz), Tjader's output swung freely between both styles.

    1. Ginza Samba
    2. I've Grown Accustomed To Her Face
    3. For All We Know
    4. Crows' Nest
    5. Liz-Anne
    6. Big Bear
    7. My Buddy
    Stan Getz / Cal Tjader Sextet
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top