Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20

By Artist / Manufacturer

By Label / Make

By Genre / Model

Home > Products for: '


  • 1
Results per page:
  • Listen To My Song: The Music City Sessions Listen To My Song: The Music City Sessions Quick View

    Buy Now

    Listen To My Song: The Music City Sessions

    Born and bred in Berkeley, California, Darondo (given name William Daron Pulliam) first played professionally at the age of 18 in The Witnesses, a blue-eyed soul troupe resident at East Bay teen club the Lucky 13 in the 60s, but it wasnt until the early 70s that the singer-guitarist hit his stride.

    When Darondo signed with Ray Dobards Music City label in August of 1973, he brought along a superb stash of self-penned tunes, arranged by musical mentor John Al Tanner, and all cut in two marathon all-night sessions. Even with overdubbed strings, horns and keyboards, the results were righteously funky; Memphis-tinged, for sure, but equal in its conveyance of the urgent street vibe of the East Bay.

    The album offers the complete sessions while the special vinyl edition approximates the album that Darondo should have issued in 1974, but Ray Dobards notorious parsimony and hubris meant singer and label parted company far too quickly, leaving only the Music City 45 of Didnt I as evidence of their brief association.

    In interviews Darondo often references the lost Music City album. And with good reason: he was at the top of his game, focused, creative, and moving exceptionally fast to use a cherished phrase, cuttin up! Thus, Listen To My Song: The Music City Sessions provides some closure as well as indisputable evidence, should you need it, that Darondo is one of the greats.

    1. I Don't Understand It

    2. I'm Gonna Love You
    3. Didn't I
    4. Luscious Lady
    5. Saving My Love
    6. Gimme Some
    7. Get Up Off Your Butt
    8. I'm Lonely
    9. Do You Really Love Me
    10. Listen To My Song

    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top