Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20

By Artist / Manufacturer

By Genre / Model

Home > Products for: '

Dave Edmunds

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Shake Some Action Shake Some Action Quick View

    Buy Now

    Shake Some Action

    Shake Some Action was the fifth released in 1976 by the San Francisco band Flamin' Groovies. Recorded in Great Britain and produced by Dave Edmunds, Shake Some Action marked a departure for the group from the blues based / garage rock sound of the earlier records to a more power pop / British invasion direction. This was due to the departure of lead singer Roy Loney, the ascendance of guitarist Cyril Jordan, and the fact that the band moved to England in 1972 and was building a large following there. A certified power pop classic brought to you by 4 Men With Beards on 180 gram vinyl.
    1. Shake Some Action
    2. Sometimes
    3. Yes It's true
    4. St. Louis Blues
    5. You Tore Me Down
    6. Please Please Girl
    7. Let The Boy Rock N' Roll
    8. Don't You Lie To Me
    9. She Said Yeah
    10. I'll Cry Alone
    11. Misery
    12. I Saw Her
    13. Teenage Confidential
    14. I Can't Hide
    Flamin' Groovies
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Fantastic Plastic (Awaiting Repress) Fantastic Plastic (Awaiting Repress) Quick View

    Buy Now

    Fantastic Plastic (Awaiting Repress)

    The Flamin' Groovies story goes all the way back to 1965 when the band began as the Chosen Few in their hometown of San Francisco, California. After a name change and a self-released 10-inch album called "Sneakers," which sold amazingly well, the band caught the attention of Columbia who signed them up and sent them into the studio with a big budget to record their first real album, "Supersnazz," on the Epic label. Their next two albums were on Kama Sutra (home of their heroes, The Lovin' Spoonful): "Flamingo," and the now revered classic "Teenage Head." Lead singer Roy Loney left the band right after that and lead guitarist Cyril Jordan moved the group to England with Chris Wilson (formerly of Loose Gravel) taking over as frontman. They continued their style of straight ahead guitar driven rock n' roll but this time with a more 60s rather than 50s influence. A few singles on United Artists, recorded at the legendary Rockfield Studios in Wales with Dave Edmunds producing, followed in the early '70s. In '76 they signed to Sire Records, who released three true gems of power pop: "Shake Some Action," "Flamin' Groovies Now," and "Jumpin' In The Night." Another lineup change ensued in the next decade with Wilson moving to England and joining the Barracudas. Jordan later formed a new band called Magic Christian while Wilson released solo albums in Europe.

    Now in 2017, the lineup featuring Cyril Jordan and Chris Wilson are BACK IN ACTION, as they continue to present their own unique and infectious style of rock n roll with such cult classics as Slow Death, Shake Some Action, Teenage Head, and a new set which includes brand new songs off their new soon-to-be-released album, "Fantastic Plastic. It's hard to say just why the group hasn't gotten the attention they deserve (at least in the USA) but they're back to give everyone another chance at hearing and seeing just why those in the know consider them one of the greatest rock n' roll bands ever.

    1. What the Hell's Goin' On
    2. End of the World
    3. Don't Talk to Strangers
    4. Let Me Rock
    5. She Loves You
    6. I Want You Bad
    7. Crazy Macy
    8. Lonely Hearts
    9. Just Like A Hurricane
    10. Fallen Star
    11. I'd Rather Spend My Time With You
    12. Cryin' Shame
    Flamin' Groovies
    Vinyl LP - Sealed AWAITING REPRESS Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top