Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer

A World of Vinyl

Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
10% Off Vinyl - 20% Off Vinyl Orders 100+

By Artist / Manufacturer

By Label / Make

By Genre / Model

Home > Products for: '

Diane Reeves

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Comin' Through (Pure Pleasure) Comin' Through (Pure Pleasure) Quick View

    Buy Now

    Comin' Through (Pure Pleasure)

    This is an outstanding example of Funk-Jazz from the Funk Surgeon Eddie Henderson, which is a classic. The funk starts straight away with the exciting "Say You Will", orthodox but compelling, a hunk of funk featuring subtle string machine riff from Ms. Rushen with sterling trumpet solo work from the Surgeon himself. With a slower rhythm, there's a deliberate funk in "Open Eyes", though it is far more controlled and also features a chant vocal from Diane Reeves. A more mellow "Morning Song" follows - penned by featured keyboard maestro, George Cables, - Eddie is right to the fore throughout. Eddie closes side one out via the mid tempo but quite gritty "Movin' On" it takes a little time to settle in, building into something of a climax - and again Eddie's solo work is superlative.

    As with side one, side two opens with a Mtume creation - this time, you'll find "Source" a controlled yet irresistibly funky track built around some eerie but effective sound effects as Eddie solos the simple melody. But it's funky! "The Funk Surgeon" lives up to it's name, a very compelling piece of music that is second only to "Say You Will" in terms of uninhibited excitement on the album. "Beyond Forever", another George Cables creation, is the nearest this album comes to the old-style, orthodox jazz of yesteryear. As would be expected, "Connie" is a wistful, gentle little ditty that ends the album on a sentimental note and with Eddie showing his natural ability to play something mellow.


    • Eddie Henderson (trumpet, fluegel horn)

    • Patrice Rushen (keyboards, bass, percussion, vocal)

    • Mtume (keyboards, conga, percussion, vocal)

    • Philip Bailey (conga, vocal)

    • Diane Reeves (vocal)

    • Lee Ritenour (guitar)

    • Howard Locksmith King (drums)

    About Pure Pleasure

    At the beginning of the 90s, in the early days of audiophile vinyl re-releases, the situation was fairly straightforward. Companies such as DCC, Mobile Fidelity, Classic Records and, of course, Pure Pleasure all maintained a mutual, unwritten ethical code: we would only use analogue tapes to manufacture records.

    During the course of the present vinyl hype, many others have jumped on the bandwagon in the hope of securing a corner of the market. Very often they are not so ethical and use every imaginable source to master from: CDs, LPs, digital files, MP3s - or employed existent tools from the 80s and 90s for manufacturing.

    A digital delay is gladly used when cutting a lacquer disc because tape machines with an analogue delay have become quite rare and are therefore expensive. When cutting the lacquer, the audio signal is delayed by one LP revolution against the signal, which controls the cutter head, and for this a digital delay is very often employed. Of course, the resultant sound signal is completely digital and thus only as good as this delay.

    We should like to emphasize that Pure Pleasure Records on principle only uses the original master tape as the basis for the entirely analogue cutting of lacquer discs. In addition, the pressing tool is newly manufactured as a matter of principle.

    We only employ existing tools for manufacturing if an improved result is not forthcoming, e.g. the title Elvis Is Back, which was mastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray, or several titles from our Philips Classics series, which in any case Willem Makkee cut from the original masters at the Emil Berliner Studios in the 90s. It goes without saying that we only used the mother and that new tools were made for our production.

    To put it in a nutshell: we can ensure you that our releases are free from any kind of digital effects and that the lacquer discs are newly cut.

    and that the lacquer discs are newly cut.

    1. Say You Will
    2. Open Eyes
    3. Morning Song
    4. Movin' On
    5. Source
    6. The Funk Surgeon

    7. Beyond Forever
    8. Connie
    Eddie Henderson
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top