Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '

Doug Macleod

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Exactly Like This Exactly Like This Quick View

    Buy Now

    Exactly Like This

    200 Gram Double LP Plated And Pressed At Quality Record Pressings

    Understanding the importance of restraint to the blues, he skirts the predictable with fresh imagery in lyrics and his music is barb-wire sharp. - Down Beat Magazine

    Doug MacLeod is a unique, powerful guitarist with a rich and soulful voice, singing original songs based on his own life and experiences. This is Genuine Original Acoustic Music at its very best.

    His new album Exactly Like This is his third release with Reference Recordings. It's MacLeod at his very best, in a richly detailed recording by Grammy-winning engineer Keith Johnson, made at Skywalker Sound in Marin County, California.

    In live performance, Doug MacLeod assures his audience This song is going to go exactly like this. It's presented just for them, not a repeat of any performance he's ever given or will ever give. He records the same way, each of his original songs are offered with a fresh voice. Exactly Like This contains 11 new MacLeod originals reflecting and paying tribute to some of his diverse musical influences: Louis Jordan, Wes Montgomery, Jerry Reed, Tony Joe White, John Lee Hooker, and even a little Duke Ellington. In his previous 19 studio albums, several live records, compilations, a blues guitar instructional DVD and a live performance DVD, MacLeod has consistently earned raves.

    His songs have been covered by many artists including Albert King, Albert Collins, Joe Louis Walker and Eva Cassidy. He has co-written songs with Dave Alvin and Coco Montoya. MacLeod's songs have been featured in many TV movies and the hit show In the Heat of the Night. Two of his songs are on Grammy-nominated albums by Albert King and Albert Collins.

    Doug MacLeod isn't just a blues guy, he's a singer/songwriter/storyteller and serious guitarist. He is one of the few modern artists doing all original material and traveling the country like a troubadour. Just Doug, headed down the road in his Honda, baseball on the radio, Siri by his side and a trunk full of music!

    1. Rock It Till the Crows Come Home
    2. Too Many Misses For Me
    3. Find Your Right Mind
    4. Ain't It Rough?
    5. Serious Doin' Woman

    1. Ridge Runner
    2. New Morning Road
    3. Vanetta
    4. Raylene
    5. Heavens The Only Place
    6. You Got It Good (And That Ain't Bad)

    Doug MacLeod
    200 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl 45 RPM LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • Come To Find Come To Find Quick View

    Buy Now

    Come To Find

    Come To Find on 200-gram vinyl, pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

    Doug MacLeod's ode to acoustic blues, a consummate bluesman channeling his focus

    Mastered from the original analog tapes by Kevin Gray

    Tip-on, thick cardboard gatefold jacket

    Spend any time around Doug MacLeod and the stories from his years of road time with the likes of Big Joe Turner and Pee Wee Crayton start to flow as easily as a brook tickled by a breeze. And you know you're getting to the good part, the climax if you will, when Doug's eyes start to twinkle, his grin grows broader and out of his mouth pop the words Come to find ...

    MacLeod was a widely acknowledged electric blues guitarist for many years, and the leader of his own band, yielding a number of U.S. and European tours and several albums to his credit. Doug disbanded the group to focus all his energies on his first love, acoustic blues.

    Come To Find is the debut fruit of that effort. And now it's made even more remarkable, with this 331/3, 200-gram reissue by Analogue Productions. The pressing sounds spectacular. You're holding a hefty 200-gram masterpiece from our own Quality Record Pressings, our state-of-the-art LP pressing plant. And the gatefold jacket is hard-core, old-school style - thick cardboard, tip-on, with additional photos and liner notes inside. Sweet.

    Come To Find is the sound of a consummate bluesman touching the core of his art in a program featuring ten originals by Doug. He is beautifully supported in this intimate setting by harmonica ace Charlie Musselwhite and the Mighty Flyer rhythm section, Jimi Bott and Bill Stuve. This is the album that deserves a place of honor in the music collections of even casual blues fans. And for those who love blues already, this is one of the best-sounding, most original works you'll ever hear.

    This title is not eligible for discount.

    1. Bring It on Home
    2. Since I Left St. Louis
    3. Mystery Woman
    4. Come to Find
    5. Old Virginia Stomp
    6. Master's Plan
    7. Ain't No Grave
    8. Lost Something This Morning
    9. Rollin' & Tumblin'
    10. Any Port in a Storm
    11. When I Left Missouri
    Doug MacLeod
    200 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • There's A Time (Out Of Stock) There's A Time (Out Of Stock) Quick View


    There's A Time (Out Of Stock)

    Reference Recordings LPs: The Reference Mastercuts Series, Pressed By Quality Record Pressings

    Double LP Set In A Gatefold Jacket, 45 RPM, 200-Gram Vinyl

    I did compare this double 45 cut half speed by Paul Stubblebine and pressed on 200 gram at QRP to the CD version and even comparing on a relatively inexpensive vinyl set-up and mega buck digital one (names omitted to protect the innocent) the vinyl exudes an openness and resolution of spatial and transient detail muffled by the CD. The opening track tells the story. On the CD MacLeod and the others are 'there.' On the LP they are there!. QRP's 200-gram pressings were dead silent too.
    - Michael Fremer (

    SAN FRANCISCO - 'Prof.' Keith Johnson's first blues recording! 13 new MacLeod originals highlight this richly detailed recording, done at Skywalker Sound in Marin County, CA. by Johnson - Reference Recordings' Grammy® winning engineer.

    Also featuring Doug's longtime bassist Denny Croy and Jimi Bott, one of the most recorded, awarded and respected blues drummers in the world.

    Doug says: Making this album was different than any other one I've done in the past. They put Jimi, Denny and me on this huge soundstage at Skywalker Sound in Marin County and we sat around in a circle where we could see each other. We played live, no overdubs, just three guys playing some music together.

    A perennial Blues Music Award nominee, MacLeod was nominated in 2012 as Acoustic Artist of the Year. (Drummer Jimi Bott is also a multi-BMA nominee).

    LP 1
    1. Rosa Lee
    2. Black Nights
    3. The Up Song
    4. Ghost
    5. My Inlaws Are Outlaws
    6. The Entitled Few

    LP 2
    1. A Ticket Out
    2. Run With The Devil
    3. St. Elmo's Rooms and Pool
    4. I'll Be Walking On
    5. East Carolina Woman
    6. The Night Of The Devil's Road
    7. Dubb's Talking Religion Blues

    Doug MacLeod
    200 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl 45 RPM LP - 2 LPs Sealed Temporarily out of stock
  • 1
Go to top