Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer

A World of Vinyl

Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '

Jimmy Dawkins

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Carey Bell's Blues Harp Carey Bell's Blues Harp Quick View

    Buy Now

    Carey Bell's Blues Harp

    Carey Bell's 1969 debut for Delmark Records finds the virtuoso harmonica player working in a quartet with guitarists Eddie Taylor and Jimmy Dawkins as well as pianist Pinetop Perkins on a 12-song set that includes rollicking covers of material by Little Walter and Muddy Waters along with colorful Bell originals. Hardcore Chicago blues at its best re-released on vinyl by 6 Spices Records.
    1. I'm Ready
    2. I Got To Find Somebody
    3. I Wanna Will My Love To You
    4. Blue Monday At Kansas City Red's
    5. I'm Gonna Buy Me A Train Ticket
    6. Come On Over Here
    7. I Cry So Much
    8. Sad Dreams
    9. Everything's Up Tight
    10. You Know It Ain't Right
    11. Last Night
    12. Rocking With A Chromatic
    Carey Bell
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Dan Dyer (Out Of Stock) Dan Dyer (Out Of Stock) Quick View


    Dan Dyer (Out Of Stock)

    It may be generalizing. Hopefully it isn't offensive. But let's face it: Dan Dyer has one hell of a soulful voice for a white guy. It's a soulful voice for anybody. But for a white guy?! Close your eyes and you're likely to picture something more along the lines of Al Green or Stevie Wonder or Sly Stone than some east Texan around 40 years old. But this is Dan Dyer's gift - a voice oozing soul along with deeply introspective, serious songwriting.

    Dyer was born and raised in the small east Texas town of Tool. He was given a guitar at age 5 but didn't learn to play until he was 18 and had moved to Austin, Texas. It was there that he began to study music seriously, attacking the guitar, and exploring his until-then untapped singing and songwriting powers.

    While attending Texas State in San Marcos, Texas, Dyer formed a band, Breedlove, with guitarist Tyrone Vaughan (son of Jimmie Vaughan), drummer Jason White, keyboardist Ezra Reynolds and bassist Josh Dawkins. The group developed a dedicated following and released Reach Out in 1996 before disbanding in 1998.

    From there, Dyer moved to New York City and began writing commercial music jingles, having songs placed in marketing campaigns for Budweiser, Chevrolet, Dr. Pepper and Campbell's Soup. While there, Lenny Kravitz, who had just begun a Warner Bros. imprint called Roxie Records, signed Dyer and produced his What Lies Beneath record in 2004, the first release on the label. Kravitz co-wrote four of the songs with Dyer and also played guitar on the record.

    After touring for a year behind What Lies Beneath, Dyer moved to St. Louis and started a family. In 2007, he returned to Austin where he'd reunited with friend David Boyle, who recorded and produced Dyer in his converted-church studio for the self-titled Dan Dyer. The record was released in 2008 on Fat Caddy Records. From the chain gang-inspired sound of Love Chain to the gospel-tinged I Walk On Gilded Splinters and Stewart Copeland-esque syncopations of Play On Little Children, Dyer and Boyle weave a diverse fabric that extends beyond conventional musical boundaries.

    1. Prisoner Of Fear
    2. Howling Wind
    3. Come Home
    4. Come Home Pt. 2
    5. Reach Out
    Dan Dyer
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP D2D -Sealed Direct to Disc (D2D) Temporarily out of stock
  • 1
Go to top