Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '

Mendelssohn- Midsummer Night's Dream

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Mendelssohn - Midsummer Night's Dream (Speakers Corner) (Awaiting Repress) Mendelssohn - Midsummer Night's Dream (Speakers Corner) (Awaiting Repress) Quick View

    Buy Now

    Mendelssohn - Midsummer Night's Dream (Speakers Corner) (Awaiting Repress)

    Felix Mendelssohn composed the concert overture to A Midsummer Night's Dream in 1826 while the remaining incidental music, composed for a performance of Shakespeare's famous play, was written many years later. His well known Wedding March and the other important numbers of A Midsummer Night's Dream are included in this sought-after DECCA recording.

    This composition is Mendelssohn's most important stage works and a great favourite, which explains why it is so frequently performed (especially the overture) and recorded.
    World-class musicians like the soloists Jennifer Vyvyan, Marion Lowe and the London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Peter Maag, and supported by the Women's Chorus of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, give a masterly performance of this delightful work which offers an insight into Mendelssohn's early and late compositional styles.
    The quality of the performance leaves nothing to be desired and the listener is carried away to a world of dreams, not only during a summer night.


    • Soloists, London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus

    • Peter Maag (conductor)

    Recording: February 1957 at Kingsway Hall, London by Cyril Windebank

    Production: James Walker

    About Speakers Corner

    At the beginning of the 90s, in the early days of audiophile vinyl re-releases, the situation was fairly straightforward. Companies such as DCC, Mobile Fidelity, Classic Records and, of course, Speakers Corner all maintained a mutual, unwritten ethical code: we would only use analogue tapes to manufacture records.

    During the course of the present vinyl hype, many others have jumped on the bandwagon in the hope of securing a corner of the market. Very often they are not so ethical and use every imaginable source to master from: CDs, LPs, digital files, MP3s - or employed existant tools from the 80s and 90s for manufacturing.

    A digital delay is gladly used when cutting a lacquer disc because tape machines with an analogue delay have become quite rare and are therefore expensive. When cutting the lacquer, the audio signal is delayed by one LP revolution against the signal, which controls the cutter head, and for this a digital delay is very often employed. Of course, the resultant sound signal is completely digital and thus only as good as this delay.

    We should like to emphasise that Speakers Corner Records on principle only uses the original master tape as the basis for the entirely analogue cutting of lacquer discs. In addition, the pressing tool is newly manufactured as a matter of principle. We have one digital recording in our catalogue (Alan Parsons / Eye In The Sky"), but even in this particular case we used the analogue tapes for cutting.

    We only employ existing tools for manufacturing if an improved result is not forthcoming, e.g. the title Elvis Is Back, which was mastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray, or several titles from our Philips Classics series, which in any case Willem Makkee cut from the original masters at the Emil Berliner Studios in the 90s. It goes without saying that we only used the mother and that new tools were made for our production.

    To put it in a nutshell: we can ensure you that our releases are free from any kind of digital effects - excluding the exception above - and that the lacquer discs are newly cut.

    1. Overture Opus 21
    2. Scherzo Opus 61 No. 1
    3. 'You Spotted Snakes' Opus 61 No. 3
    4. Intermezzo Opus 61 No. 5
    5. Nocturne Opus 61 No. 7
    6. Wedding Marche Opus 61 No. 9
    7. Dance Of The Clowns Opus 61 No. 11
    8. Finale Opus 61 No. 12
    Peter Maag with London Symphony Orchestra
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed AWAITING REPRESS Buy Now
  • Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night's Dream Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night's Dream Quick View

    Buy Now

    Mendelssohn: A Midsummer Night's Dream

    Otto Klemperer was very much a man of the theatre. Here, opera and drama were truly united, he said of his time at Berlin's Kroll Theatre, a progressive and influential force in the heady years of the Weimar Republic. He was also a man with a sharp sense of humour: this performance of Mendelssohn's incidental music to Shakespeare's A Midsummer Night's Dream both glows with enchantment and sparkles with wit.
    1. Overture

    2. Scherzo

    3. March Of The Fairies

    4. Ye Spotted Snakes

    5. Intermezzo

    6. Nocturne

    7. Wedding March

    8. Funeral March

    9. Dance Of The Clowns

    10. Finale
    Otto Klemperer
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top