Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer

A World of Vinyl

(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
25% Off Vinyl - LP25
Home > Products for: '

Penthouse Serenade

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Penthouse Serenade (Pure Pleasure) Penthouse Serenade (Pure Pleasure) Quick View

    Buy Now

    Penthouse Serenade (Pure Pleasure)

    The year after he had formally disbanded his trio to turn his attention to vocal pop music, Nat 'King' Cole reversed himself and went into the studio with guitarist John Collins, bassist Charlie Harris, and drummer Bunny Shawker and recorded the eight-song 10 LP Penthouse Serenade, a quiet, reflective set of standards like Somebody Loves Me and Laura that he performed instrumentally at the piano. The album confirmed that, whatever success he might be having as a singer, he hadn't lost his touch. In 1955, with the 12 LP gaining dominance, Cole went back into the studio with Collins, Harris, and drummer Lee Young (Lester Young's brother) and cut four more songs to create a 12-track reissue of Penthouse Serenade that was his first full-length LP release. In 1998, Capitol Jazz again expanded the album, putting out a 19-track CD version by appending an alternate take of I Surrender Dear from the 1955 session and six tracks recorded with Collins and Harris (and, on most of them, percussionist Jack Costanzo) from January 1952, four of which were previously unreleased. The justification for these inclusions was that they featured the same personnel, and they are interesting in that they include alternate, non-orchestrated versions of Cole hits like Too Young, Walkin' My Baby Back Home, and Unforgettable. But they are not in keeping with the rest of the album in that they are vocal tracks. Nevertheless, it's hard to argue with an album that, over the years, has grown from 23 to 51 minutes in length.


    • Nat King Cole (piano, vocal)

    • John Collins (guitar)

    • Charlie Harris (bass)

    • Bunny Shawker, Lee Young (drums)

    • Jack Costanzo (percussion)

    Recording: January 1952 at MGM Studios, New York City / July 1952 and July 1955 at Capitol Studios, Los Angeles

    Production: Lee Gillette

    About Pure Pleasure

    At the beginning of the 90s, in the early days of audiophile vinyl re-releases, the situation was fairly straightforward. Companies such as DCC, Mobile Fidelity, Classic Records and, of course, Pure Pleasure all maintained a mutual, unwritten ethical code: we would only use analogue tapes to manufacture records.

    During the course of the present vinyl hype, many others have jumped on the bandwagon in the hope of securing a corner of the market. Very often they are not so ethical and use every imaginable source to master from: CDs, LPs, digital files, MP3s - or employed existent tools from the 80s and 90s for manufacturing.

    A digital delay is gladly used when cutting a lacquer disc because tape machines with an analogue delay have become quite rare and are therefore expensive. When cutting the lacquer, the audio signal is delayed by one LP revolution against the signal, which controls the cutter head, and for this a digital delay is very often employed. Of course, the resultant sound signal is completely digital and thus only as good as this delay.

    We should like to emphasize that Pure Pleasure Records on principle only uses the original master tape as the basis for the entirely analogue cutting of lacquer discs. In addition, the pressing tool is newly manufactured as a matter of principle.

    We only employ existing tools for manufacturing if an improved result is not forthcoming, e.g. the title Elvis Is Back, which was mastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray, or several titles from our Philips Classics series, which in any case Willem Makkee cut from the original masters at the Emil Berliner Studios in the 90s. It goes without saying that we only used the mother and that new tools were made for our production.

    To put it in a nutshell: we can ensure you that our releases are free from any kind of digital effects and that the lacquer discs are newly cut.

    1. Rose Room
    2. I Surrender, Dear
    3. Somebody Loves Me
    4. It Could Happen To You
    5. Polka Dots And Moonbeams
    6. Laura
    7. If I Should Lose You
    8. Once In A Blue Moon
    9. Don't Blame Me
    10. Penthouse Serenade (When We're Alone)
    11. Little Girl
    12. Down By The Old Mill Stream
    13. Too Marvelous for Words
    14. That's My Girl
    15. Unforgettable
    16. Walkin' My Baby Back Home
    17. Too Young
    18. It's Only a Paper Moon
    Nat King Cole with Billy May Orchestra
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Penthouse Serenade Penthouse Serenade Quick View

    Buy Now

    Penthouse Serenade

    Classic Savoy LP Reissue of recordings from one of Jazz's most distinctive and beloved piano stylists from sessions recorded in 1945 and 1949 in LA and NYC.
    1. I Cover The Waterfront

    2. Love Walked In
    3. (I Don't Stand) A Ghost Of A Chance (With You)

    4. (Back HomeAgain In) Indiana

    5. Somebody Loves Me
    6. Body And Soul
    7. Penthouse Serenade (When We're Alone)


    9. Red Sails In The Sunset

    10. I Can't Believe That You're In Love With Me

    11. Stompin' At The Savoy

    12. Stardust

    13. More Than You Know
    14. Over The Rainbow
    Erroll Garner
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top