Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer

A World of Vinyl

(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
15% Off Vinyl - LP15

By Artist / Manufacturer

By Label / Make

By Genre / Model

Home > Products for: '

Pete Rock And Cl Smooth

  • 1
Results per page:
  • The Main Ingredient The Main Ingredient Quick View

    Buy Now

    The Main Ingredient


    The Main Ingredient is the second album by Pete Rock & CL Smooth, originally released in 1994.

    Characterized by sultry soul and jazz samples, the album saw a more polished sound than the duo's debut Mecca & The Soul Brother [MOVLP1633 , building on the praise that they had already garnered. The Main Ingredient is notable for its snappy, crispy drums and extensive use of vocal scratches. It contains some of the duo's best known work, in the form of tracks such as the upbeat In The House, and the catchy Sun Won't Come Out, which features a lush vocal sample from the song of the same name by Harvey Scales.

    Continuing a theme initiated by Mecca and the Soul Brother, brief instrumental interludes are placed at the beginning and end of songs. With the exception of just a few tracks, this feature is recurrent throughout the album. In addition, The Main Ingredient saw Rock fleshing out and defining his trademark production style, which is now recognized for often containing smooth basslines, swirling horns, filtered samples, and spacious grooves.

    The production on this album proved to be influential upon a legion of latter day producers.

    LP 1
    1. In The House
    2. Carmel City
    3. I Get Physical
    4. Sun Won't Come Out
    5. I Got A Love
    6. Escape
    7. The Main Ingredient
    8. Worldwide

    LP 2
    1. All The Places
    2. Tell Me
    3. Take You There
    4. Searching
    5. Check It Out
    6. In The Flesh
    7. It's On You
    8. Get On The Mic

    Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • Mecca & The Soul Brother Mecca & The Soul Brother Quick View

    Buy Now

    Mecca & The Soul Brother

    Mecca And The Soul Brother from 1992 is considered by fans and critics as one of the finest hip hop albums of the early 90s. Songs like Lots of Lovin, They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.), Anger In The Nation and It It Ain't Rough, It Ain't Right have everything; funky basslines, solid production, convincing lyrics and lots of soul. Producer Pete Rock built his beats from obscure R&B, funk and jazz records and CL Smooth added his sometimes philosophical raps.

    Guest rappers on the album include Grand Puba (of Brand Nubian), Heavy D, Rob-O, Grap & Dida, and it reached #7 in the US R&B/Hip-hop charts and #43 in the US album charts.

    Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth stopped working together in 1995 after finishing their follow-up album The Main Ingredient. Rumor has it that the duo will be reuniting for a brand new album.

    LP 1
    1. Return Of The Mecca
    2. For Pete's Sake
    3. Ghettos Of The Mind
    4. Lots Of Lovin
    5. Act Like You Know

    6. Straighten It Out
    7. Soul Brother #1
    8. Wig Out
    9. Anger In The Nation
    10. They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)

    LP 2
    1. On And On
    2. It's Like That
    3. Can't Front On Me
    4. The Creator (Remix) Bonus Track
    5. Mecca And The Soul Brother (Remix) Bonus Track
    6. The Basement (Featuring Heavy D., Rob-o, Grap & Dida)
    7. If It Ain't Rough, It Ain't Right
    8. Skinz (Featuring Grand Puba)

    Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top