Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '

Sonny Rollins Plays For Bird

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Rollins Plays For Bird (Mono) Rollins Plays For Bird (Mono) Quick View

    Buy Now

    Rollins Plays For Bird (Mono)

    1956's Rollins Plays For Bird was recorded within a year of Charlie Parker's death and features a 7-song, 27-minute medley of material associated with the jazz legend along with the independent numbers I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face and Kids Know. Accompanying Rollins on the session are Wade Legge (piano), George Morrow (bass), Max Roach (drums) and Kenny Dorham (trumpet).

    This title is not eligible for discount.

    1. Medley: I Remember You/My Melancholy Baby/Old Folks/They Can't Take That Away From Me/Just Friends/My Little Suede Shoes/Star Eyes
    2. I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face
    3. Kids Know
    Sonny Rollins
    200 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl Mono LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Chicago Fire Chicago Fire Quick View

    Buy Now

    Chicago Fire

    There's an old saying that a great jazz musician never plays a song the same way once. That could certainly be said of Eric Alexander. One of the busiest players in jazz yet his playing is as imaginative as ever, with the ideas pouring out of his horn. His harmonic inventiveness is exceptional and he'll run the changes at such length at times that you wonder if he'll resolve everything in time and end up back on the beat - but he always does. He has a big, full, sound, and a ferocious technique, with access to the full range of his instrument, all under super-human control. Both the Bird and the Sonny Rollins legacies have been thoroughly internalized but here Eric explores the repertoire of another school of tenor playing - the Chicagoans. With long-time collaborators Harold Mabern, John Webber and Joe Farnsworth Eric gives the nod to some Windy City players who helped shape the sound of jazz for decades Eddie Harris, Von Freeman and others.
    1. Save Your Love For Me
    2. The Bee Hive
    3. Eddie Harris
    4. Just One of Those Things
    5. Blueski for Vonski
    6. Mr. Stitt
    7. You Talk That Talk
    8. Don't Take Your Love From Me
    Eric Alexander
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top