Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer

A World of Vinyl

(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
15% Off Vinyl - LP15
Home > Products for: '

Three Mile Pilot

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Maps Maps Quick View

    Buy Now


    When Three Mile Pilot, the legendary Southern California trio that spawned Pinback and The Black Heart Procession, returned to active duty in 2010 with The Inevitable Past Is The Future Forgotten, it ended a 13-year silence from the band. The album was amazing, and the hope was we wouldn't have to wait another dozen years for more. The brand new Maps EP delivers on the evolution of The Inevitable Past, but also finds the group returning to some of their exploratory roots in a unique and refreshing way.

    Maps opens with Three Mile Pilot's most triumphant song to date, the towering "Long Way Up." From there the band employs tasteful use of guitars, synths and deep grooves to navigate their pleasantly adventurous waters over the course of 20 all-too-brief minutes. Traditionally EPs serve as stop-gaps between albums, often a collection of toss-offs and leftover b-sides. Maps rejects this notion as it's filled with some of the strongest songs in Three Mile Pilot's remarkable 20-year history.

    1. Long Way Up

    2. Wires
    3. This Escape

    4. Blu

    5. Birdy

    Three Mile Pilot
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • The Inevitable Past Is The Future Forgotten The Inevitable Past Is The Future Forgotten Quick View

    Buy Now

    The Inevitable Past Is The Future Forgotten

    The rumor of a new Three Mile Pilot album has been circulating for over a decade, further fueling the mystery and mythology that has swirled around the San Diego trio since the 1997 release of what was thought to be their swan song, the enormously influential Another Desert, Another Sea.

    That brings us to the aptly-named The Inevitable Past Is The Future Forgotten, the first Three Mile Pilot album in 13 years and the first to be written, performed, recorded and produced entirely by the original three members in their own home studios. As such it is the most uncompromising album since their inception, it also just happens to be their most accessible. While Pinback and The Black Heart Procession were obviously influenced by 3MP in their early days, the inverse can now be heard, with many of the songs on The Inevitable Past bearing the unmistakable and inevitable stamps of Pinback and The Black Heart Procession. This circular influence is what makes the album so brilliant; instead of a proper hiatus, 3MPs progression was charted vicariously through its members other groups. As such, The Inevitable Past makes good on the promising glimpses heard through a long but breathless wait.

    1. Battle
    2. Still Alive
    3. Grey Clouds
    4. Same Mistake
    5. What I Lose
    6. Left in Vain
    7. The Threshold
    8. One Falls Away
    9. Days of Wrath
    10. Planets
    11. What's In The Air
    12. The Premonition
    Three Mile Pilot
    Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • Underslept Underslept Quick View

    Buy Now


    Limited Edition

    Systems Officer is the solo guise of Armistead Burwell Smith IV, the prolific multi-instrumentalist songwriter and founding member of Pinback and Three Mile Pilot. Written and recorded between breaks in the rigorous Pinback recording and touring schedule, Underslept is five years in the making, a concise collection of thoughtful, complex pop songs.

    Written, produced and performed by Smith in his home studio, Underslept features the same kind of intricate arrangements and layered vocal harmonies that have become a trademark of Pinback, with nods to the dramatic tone that marks the best Three Mile Pilot songs.

    Underslept gives Smith, already one of rocks most innovative and influential bass players, the opportunity to place his often understated gifts as a singer and songwriter front and center, drawing influence from The Police, Peter Gabriel-era Genesis and The Beach Boys to craft thoughtful, progressive pop with spiky hooks and impressively high replay value.

    1. Pacer
    2. East
    3. Quan
    4. Shape Shifter
    5. Oui
    6. In This World
    7. We Breathe Dust
    8. Sand I
    9. Sand II
    10. Deyos
    11. Uhiju (Bonus Track)
    12. Tic Tac (Bonus Track)
    13. Crashing End (Bonus Track)
    Systems Officer
    Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • Some Offcell Voices Some Offcell Voices Quick View

    Buy Now

    Some Offcell Voices

    Two Legendary PINBACK EPs Compiled, Remastered, And Released On Vinyl For The First Time

    Remastered For Vinyl From Original Recordings

    In the early days of Pinback, they were known mostly as two lauded musicians who spent their spare time away from their primary projects (Three Mile Pilot, Thingy, Heavy Vegetable) to hone their home recording skills while experimenting with ideas, tones, and instrumentation that didn't quite fit into those primary projects. Pinback hadn't yet become their day job; it hadn't yet become a well-oiled 5-piece touring machine, and it had no idea where it was going to go. In retrospect, that earnest curiosity is what makes those early Pinback recordings so resonant and so unique, and what separated them from every indie rock band of this century.

    Every bit as powerful and expressive as their first two albums, the 1999 EP, Some Voices, and the 2003 EP, Offcell, famously bucked the perception of EPs as outtakes and toss-offs. What were ostensibly minor stopgaps between albums became massive fan favorites and staples of Pinback's live show. Having never been released on vinyl, it's only fitting that we revisit these poignant recordings - and take the opportunity to painstakingly remaster and repackage them into the full-length album that never was, the aptly named Some Offcell Voices.

    1. Some Voices
    2. Trainer
    3. Manchuria
    4. June
    5. Microtonic Wave
    6. Victorious D
    7. Offcell
    8. B
    9. Grey Machine
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top