Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '

Trout Quintet

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Schubert - Trout Quintet (Speakers Corner) Schubert - Trout Quintet (Speakers Corner) Quick View

    Buy Now

    Schubert - Trout Quintet (Speakers Corner)

    In the summer of 1819, Franz Schubert stayed in the Austrian town of Steyr where he began work on the composition of the five-movement Piano Quintet in A major, op. 114 (D 667) which was commissioned by the cellist Sylvester Paumgartner. The work was completed in the autumn and soon achieved great popularity under the name of Trout Quintet, which it owes to the Andantino fourth movement - a set of variations on the song of the same name.
    The work has remained highly popular right up to the present day and so it comes as no surprise to find this highly praised recording, made with such renowned artists as the pianist Clifford Curzon, the violinist Willi Boskovsky and other members of the Vienna Octet, being released once again.

    The ensembles refreshing performance reflects the sparkling lightness and virtuosity of the work. The well-balanced recording with its full tone certainly deserves a place in every music lovers collection.


    • Sir Clifford Curzon and Members of the Vienna Octet

    Recording: October 1957 at Sofiensaal, Vienna by James Brown

    Production: Erik Smith

    About Speakers Corner

    At the beginning of the 90s, in the early days of audiophile vinyl re-releases, the situation was fairly straightforward. Companies such as DCC, Mobile Fidelity, Classic Records and, of course, Speakers Corner all maintained a mutual, unwritten ethical code: we would only use analogue tapes to manufacture records.

    During the course of the present vinyl hype, many others have jumped on the bandwagon in the hope of securing a corner of the market. Very often they are not so ethical and use every imaginable source to master from: CDs, LPs, digital files, MP3s - or employed existant tools from the 80s and 90s for manufacturing.

    A digital delay is gladly used when cutting a lacquer disc because tape machines with an analogue delay have become quite rare and are therefore expensive. When cutting the lacquer, the audio signal is delayed by one LP revolution against the signal, which controls the cutter head, and for this a digital delay is very often employed. Of course, the resultant sound signal is completely digital and thus only as good as this delay.

    We should like to emphasise that Speakers Corner Records on principle only uses the original master tape as the basis for the entirely analogue cutting of lacquer discs. In addition, the pressing tool is newly manufactured as a matter of principle. We have one digital recording in our catalogue (Alan Parsons / Eye In The Sky"), but even in this particular case we used the analogue tapes for cutting.

    We only employ existing tools for manufacturing if an improved result is not forthcoming, e.g. the title Elvis Is Back, which was mastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray, or several titles from our Philips Classics series, which in any case Willem Makkee cut from the original masters at the Emil Berliner Studios in the 90s. It goes without saying that we only used the mother and that new tools were made for our production.

    To put it in a nutshell: we can ensure you that our releases are free from any kind of digital effects - excluding the exception above - and that the lacquer discs are newly cut.

    Clifford Curzon and the Vienna Octet
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Schubert: Trout Quintet Schubert: Trout Quintet Quick View

    Buy Now

    Schubert: Trout Quintet

    Sviatoslav Richter is universally acknowledged to be one of the greatest pianists of the 20th century, renowned for his virtuoso technique and the depth of his interpretations. Dmitri Shostakovich said about him: "Richter is an extraordinary phenomenon. The enormity of his talent staggers and enraptures. All the phenomena of musical art are accessible to him." He trained at the Moscow Conservatory under Heinrich Neuhaus, who considered Richter "already a complete artist, who had the ability to build a piece so that it seemed to lie before him like an immense landscape, revealed to the eye at a single glance.

    The Borodin Quartet was founded in 1945 at the Moscow Conservatoire - the first cellist a certain Mstislav Rostropovich was replaced after few weeks by Valentin Berlinsky - was also close to Shostakovich, who personally consulted them on each of his quartets. The Borodin Quartet, celebrated for penetrating phrase and warm sound, was Richter favorite chamber music partner.

    Georg Hörtnagel is a German double bassist who used to play with Bayerische Staatsoper during the Georg Solti era.

    About this Austrian live recording from June 1980 GRAMOPHONE said: "This is a performance of high quality. Sviatoslav Richter in particular precisely catches the cheerful mood of the music and the underlying shadows of which one should sometimes be conscious, and he plays those simple tunes in octaves so freshly that you'd think he'd only just discovered their charms."

    1. Piano Quintet in A Major, D. 667, Trout: I. Allegro vivace
    2. Piano Quintet in A Major, D. 667, Trout: II. Andante
    3. Piano Quintet in A Major, D. 667, Trout: III. Scherzo (Presto)
    4. Piano Quintet in A Major, D. 667, Trout: IV. Tema (Andantino)
    5. Piano Quintet in A Major, D. 667, Trout: V. Finale (Allegro giusto)
    Sviatoslav Richter
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Schubert: Forellenquintett - Trout Quintet Schubert: Forellenquintett - Trout Quintet Quick View

    Buy Now

    Schubert: Forellenquintett - Trout Quintet

    Anne-Sophie Mutter, who celebrated the 40th anniversary of her professional debut last year, and Daniil Trifonov,
    now in his mid-twenties, join forces with three young string-playing alumni of the Mutter Foundation for a new
    release on DG. The all-Schubert album features the composer's Piano Quintet in A Major, known as the Trout
    Quintet; Notturno in E-flat Major, a sublime late work for violin, cello and piano; and arrangements of the songs
    "StÄndchen" and "Ave Maria" for violin and piano.

    Anne-Sophie Mutter, Daniil Trifonov, Hwayoon Lee, Maximilian Hornung, Roman Patkoló

    Piano Quintet in A major, D. 667 The Trout
    1. Allegro vivace
    2. Andante
    3. Scherzo (Presto)
    4. Thema - Andantino - Variazioni I-V - Allegretto
    5. Finale (Allegro giusto)

    6. Notturno For Piano, Violin And Violoncello In E Flat Major, Op. 148, D 897

    Schwanengesang, D. 957

    7. StÄndchen In D Minor (Arr. For Violin And Piano)

    Ellens Gesang III, Op. 52, No.6, D 839
    8. Ave Maria In B Flat Major (Arr. For Violin And Piano)

    Vinyl LP - 2 LP Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top