Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '


  • 1
Results per page:
  • Epoch Epoch Quick View

    Buy Now


    Epoch is the final album in the trilogy beginning with 2011's Dive, then 2014's Awake. This period between Dive and Epoch marks a significant maturation for Scott Hansen's continually expanding project, one that has taken him from a solo performer and bedroom artist to fronting a live 4-piece band on large stages across the world.

    Epoch hones the sonic aesthetic of Dive while drawing on the kinetic energy of Awake, it explores darker themes and new musical territory. The album was produced and recorded by Hansen predominantly in his home studio in Berkeley, California. The album was arranged alongside long-time collaborator and partner in the project, Zac Brown. Brown contributed bass and guitar parts to the songwriting process. Rory O'Connor performed drums on the album. Hansen sees Epoch as a multi-dimensional artistic vision at the confluence of his graphic design work via ISO50 and music with Tycho. The graphic presentation of album artwork is as important as the music itself. The keystone is the central image of Epoch and the colors scheme red and black. This is a stark contrast to the almost rainbow palette of Awake.

    1. Glider
    2. Horizon
    3. Slack
    4. Receiver
    5. Epoch
    6. Division
    7. Source
    8. Local
    9. Rings
    10. Continuum
    11. Field
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Awake Remixes Awake Remixes Quick View

    Buy Now

    Awake Remixes

    Limited Edition Pressed On Deep Blue Vinyl

    Awake represented a high-water mark for Scott Hansen, the San Francisco musician better known as Tycho. Described by Hansen as, in many ways, the first True Tycho record, Awake announced the arrival of Tycho as a full band, and it found Hansen streamlining the group's sound, focusing on the drums and aiming to capture the energy and power of the group's live set. The story of Awake arrives at its natural conclusion with this 12 of remixes, on which Hansen's songs are re-interpreted by producers (including Ghostly artists Com Truise, Beacon, & Christopher Willits, as well as Baio from Vampire Weekend, Nitemoves, and more) who make the songs their own while retaining all of their core elements.

    1. Awake (Com Truise Remix)
    2. Montana (Christopher Willits Remix)
    3. L (Dusty Brown Remix)
    4. Dye (Nitemoves Remix)
    5. See (Beacon Remix)
    6. Apogee (RJD2 Remix)
    7. Spectre (Bibio Remix)
    8. Plains (Baio Remix)
    9. Montana (Few Nolder Remix)
    Colored Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Past Is Prologue (Out Of Stock) Past Is Prologue (Out Of Stock) Quick View


    Past Is Prologue (Out Of Stock)

    Tycho's Past Is Prologue has a storied history. The tracks
    began as Sunrise Projector, Tycho's 2004 full-length debut on
    Gammaphone records; the record was then expanded and
    reissued in 2006 as Past Is Prologue on Merck records; and
    now, Ghostly International is reissuing Tycho's original
    masterwork, re-introducing graphic designer / producer Scott
    Hansen's musical universe: a lush, expansive imaginary
    landscape of sepia-toned keyboards, warm downtempo beats,
    and mile after mile of sun-dappled beauty.

    Scott Hansen's alter-ego is as graphic designer ISO50, and his
    visual work and musical creations share a similar aesthetic:
    saturated, faintly nostalgic tones, artfully arranged
    compositions, with a complex internal rhythm and color-outside-the-lines joy that's both easy on the eyes/ears and
    tremendously addictive. Past Is Prologue is an ideal point of
    entry into Tycho's world: "Dictaphone's Lament" is an anthemic
    rush of melody and rhythm with cross-panned, dueling
    basslines and a gauzy, late-afternoon feel; "Send and Receive"
    sounds like a music box designed by Brian Eno, a ne mesh of
    melodic plips and plops and brisk, skittering hi-hats. The title
    track is a low-level stunner, splitting the dierence between
    Rhodes-heavy ambient and drum 'n bass-both laid-back and
    frantic. Past Is Prologue also includes remixes from Chachi
    Jones, and Nautilis, as well as two extra tracks not on the
    original release of the album.

    As its title implies, Past Is Prologue is only the beginning. In
    the years since its initial release, Scott Hansen has been
    rening his approach, woodshedding new material and bufng
    it until it shines like polished brass. For Tycho, the past is
    prologue to a limitless future.

    1. Home
    2. Sunrise Projector
    3. Dictaphone's Lament
    4. PBS
    5. Send And Receive
    6. Brother
    7. A Circular Reeducation
    8. Past Is Prologue
    9. Cloud Generator
    10. The Disconnect
    11. Cascade
    12. Phoenix
    13. Send And Receive (Chachi Jones Remix)
    14. Sunrise Projector (Nautilis Remix)
    Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Temporarily out of stock
  • Awake (Out Of Stock) Awake (Out Of Stock) Quick View


    Awake (Out Of Stock)

    For nearly a decade, Tycho has been known as the musical alias of
    Scott Hansen, but with the release of Awake - his second LP for
    Ghostly International - the solo project has evolved into a three-piece
    band. Relating closer to post-rock than ambient soundscapes, the
    record is situated in the present, sounding more like Hansen than
    drawing from his inuences. "This is, in many ways, the rst true Tycho

    Following 2011's Dive LP, the San Francisco-based designer toured
    extensively, and with a full band on stage, his sound coalesced into a
    percussive, organic whole. Zac Brown (guitars, bass) rejoined Scott on
    the road for this tour, but it was the particular addition of Rory
    O'Connor's live drumming that ultimately sent Hansen back to the
    studio with a more precise vision. "After the tour, I decided that I
    wanted to capture the more energetic, driven sound of the live show
    on the next album," Hansen recalls. Bringing musicians into Tycho's
    creative process was a step towards expanding his own songwriting
    and advancing the project beyond its current sound.

    In a cabin near Tahoe last winter, Zac and Scott began eshing out the
    structure of the new record, but it wasn't until they set up shop in the
    hills of Santa Cruz with Rory that it all fell into place. "It crystallized the
    vision of how the drums would come to the forefront on this record,"
    says Hansen. The sound was much more stripped-down and concise
    with more organic instruments in the fold. Songs like "Montana" and
    "Awake" are a departure from Tycho's previous material - unique to
    the group effort poured into the songs on the new record - while
    "See" and "Dye" echo ideas from previous works, bridging a middle
    ground between the old and new. Working with Count Eldridge, who
    also engineered Dive, the team could xate on the pulses that Tycho
    might previously layer under synthesizers and exhume them with
    distinct bass and guitar patterns.

    Also known for his design work as ISO50, Hansen's visual and sonic
    efforts have dovetailed throughout the course of his career. "This is
    the rst time in my life I've dropped everything to focus on one artistic
    pursuit," notes Hansen. Previous Tycho releases came to fruition when
    an amalgam of songs were nearing completion, but Awake is where
    music becomes the focus and true expression becomes the result.

    1. Awake
    2. Montana
    3. L
    4. Dye
    5. See
    6. Apogee
    7. Spectre
    8. Plains
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Temporarily out of stock
  • 1
Go to top