Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20
Home > Products for: '


  • 1
Results per page:
  • Break Stuff (Awaiting Repress) Break Stuff (Awaiting Repress) Quick View

    Buy Now

    Break Stuff (Awaiting Repress)

    Vijay Iyer's "third and best" (NY Times) trio album is now availabe on vinyl.

    Vijay Iyer: piano
    Stephan Crump: double bass
    Marcus Gilmore: drums

    "Break Stuff" is what happens after formal elements have been addressed. Vijay Iyer calls the break "a span of time in which to act. It's the basis for breakdowns, breakbeats, and break dancing... it can be the moment when everything comes to life." A number of the pieces here are breakdowns of other Iyer constructions. Some are from a suite premiered at New York's Museum of Modern Art, some derive from Open City, a collaboration with novelist Teju Cole and large ensemble. The trio energetically recasts everything it touches. "Hood" is a tribute to Detroit techno pioneer Robert Hood. On "Work", Vijay pays homage to his "number one hero", Thelonious Monk. "Countdown" reconsiders the classic Coltrane tune inside a rhythmic framework inspired by West African music. "Mystery Woman" is driven by compound pulses which owe a debt to South Indian drumming. Fast moving and quick-witted, the group has developed a strong musical identity of its own, with an emphasis on what Iyer calls "co-constructing", exploring all the dynamics of playing together. Yet the three players also get abundant solo space and, in a reflective moment at the album's centre, Iyer plays a moving version of Billy Strayhorn's "Blood Count" alone. Break Stuff, recorded in June 2014 at New York's Avatar Studio and produced by Manfred Eicher, is the third ECM release from Vijay Iyer. It follows the chamber music recording Mutations and the film-and-music project Radhe Radhe: Rites of Holi.

    Vijay Iyer Trio
    Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed AWAITING REPRESS Buy Now
  • Negrophilia: The Album Negrophilia: The Album Quick View

    Buy Now

    Negrophilia: The Album

    Ladd is regarded as one of the urban world's most creative and diverse entities. Charting a strangely macabre, yet familiar territory, he has once again sculpted a truly entrancing record. Much like a strange back alleyway, it beckons you to wonder what lies beyond the shadows and lights. Says Mike, "The goal of this record is to serve as an organic backdrop to a digital landscape." Inspired in part by Petrine Archer-Straw's book, "Negrophilia", Ladd combined his thoughts and visions with renowned drummer Guillermo E. Brown and pianist Vijay Iyer, who return to work with him on the heels of last year's critically acclaimed "In What Language?". Melding natural and synthetic sound, this album engages the listener with the urgency of futurism, while also harkening to a not too distant past.
    1. Field Work (The Ethnographer's Daughter)

    2. The French Dig Latinos, Too

    3. In Perspective

    4. Shake It

    5. Worldwide Shrinkwrap (Contact Zones)

    6. Back At Ya

    7. Appropriated Metro

    8. Blonde Negress

    9. Sam And Milli Dine Out

    10. Nancy And Carl Go Christmas Shopping

    11. Sleep Patterns Of Black Expatriots Circa 1960
    Mike Ladd
    Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top