Pro-ject Authorized & Certified VPI Dealer


(877) 929-8729
Site Search
Menu Free shipping on domestic orders over $49.99! - We ship worldwide!
20% Off Vinyl - LP20

By Label / Make

By Genre / Model

Home > Products for: '

Willy Deville

  • 1
Results per page:
  • Crow Jane Alley Crow Jane Alley Quick View

    Buy Now

    Crow Jane Alley


    First Time On Vinyl

    It's hard to get a handle on what to call Willy DeVille's multi-genre music, though AMG writer Thom Jurek's description of ''Spanish soul-inflected love songs'' comes close. ''Muddy Waters Rose Out of the Mississippi Mud'' would be perfect for Rusty Kershaw, God rest his soul, a nice complement to the laid-back cover of Jay & the Americans' Top Three hit from 1964, ''Come a Little Bit Closer'' -- its presentation a wonderful nod to songwriters Wes Farrell and Bobby Hart. The evolution is startling 28 years after Mink DeVille gave listeners ''Let Me Dream if I Want To'' on the classic punk LP Live at CBGB's, and DeVille emerges as a major interpreter. The four minutes and 31 seconds of Bryan Ferry's ''Slave to Love'' may be one of the most distinct and unique adaptations of a Ferry tune put on record to date. Outside of the covers, the other eight tracks are Willy DeVille originals, ''(Don't Have A) Change of Heart'' liberally borrowing the melody from Kenny Rogers' hit ''Lucille.'' ''Trouble Comin' Every Day in a World'' slinks and lurks around the corner with another stylistic change, sounding a bit like that other Willie from the same era, Bostonian Willie ''Loco'' Alexander. Crow Jane Alley is a very respectable collection from this journeyman, starting off with the single ''Chieva'' and continuing with DeVille's novel exploration of sound and clever merging of styles.

    1. Chieva
    2. Right There, Right Then
    3. Downside Of Town
    4. My Forever Came Today

    5. Crow Jane Alley (for Jack)
    6. Muddy Waters Rose Out Of The Mississippi Mud
    7. Come A Little Bit Closer
    8. Slave To Love
    9. (Don't Have A) Change Of Heart
    10. Trouble Comin' Everyday In A World Gone Wrong
    Willy DeVille
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - Sealed Buy Now
  • Collected Collected Quick View

    Buy Now



    Limited Pressing Of 500 Individually Numbered Copies On Gold Vinyl, Black Vinyl Thereafter

    180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl

    Gatefold Sleeve

    Printed Innersleeves

    4-Page Insert

    Collected is a brand new 2xLP compilation of Willy DeVille's tenure as the charismatic front man of Mink DeVille, AND of his later solo work. Featuring Spanish Stroll, Demasiado Corazon & Hey Joe, this 2-record set includes a 4-page booklet with extensive liner notes written by ex-band members and DeVille's inner circle. Containing one LP called The Mink DeVille Years and the second disc The Willy DeVille Years, this 27-song collection is the definitive document of his 35-year career.

    Mink DeVille was one of the New York Punk movement's founding bands while having the distinct honor of being CBGB's house band. Off their debut Cabretta, Spanish Stroll and Return To Magenta (produced by Jack Nitzsche) are included in this compilation. Off subsequent albums, Love & Emotion and Demasiado Corazon are also included.

    After their third album, Le Chat Bleu, Willy was the only original member left. After the sixth Mink DeVille album, Willy went solo with Miracle, working together with Mark Knopfler. The song Storybook Love became a hit because of the film The Princess Bride. After a musical journey, DeVille scored a hit with his Hey Joe cover in 1992. His last album Pistola was released in 2008. A year later, Willy DeVille died of pancreatic cancer age 58.

    This limited edition of 500 individually numbered copies is pressed on gold vinyl. Once sold out, this release will be available again on black vinyl.

    LP 1: Mink Deville Years
    1. Spanish Stroll
    2. Mixed Up, Shook Up Girl
    3. Just Your Friends
    4. Soul Twist
    5. Savoir Faire
    6. Heaven Stood Still
    7. Just To Walk That Little Girl Home
    8. Love And Emotion
    9. Maybe Tomorrow
    10. You Better Move On
    11. Demasiado Corazon
    12. Each Word's A Beat Of My Heart
    13. Italian Shoes
    14. I Must Be Dreaming

    LP 2: Willy Deville Years
    1. Miracle
    2. Storybook Love
    3. Hello My Lover
    4. Hey Joe
    5. Even While I Sleep
    6. Voodoo Charm
    7. Still (I Love You Still)
    8. Gypsy Deck Of Hearts
    9. Across The Borderline
    10. (Don't Want You) Hanging Around My Door
    11. Come A Little Bit Closer
    12. Right There, Right Then
    13. When I Get Home

    Willy & Mink DeVille
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • Come A Little Bit Closer Come A Little Bit Closer Quick View

    Buy Now

    Come A Little Bit Closer


    First Time On Vinyl

    This generous 17-track compilation of Willy DeVille's live performances covers his early years with Mink DeVille in 1977 extending to solo work in 2006. All songs were recorded in Europe, perhaps an indication of how well he was accepted there as opposed to his home country. That's especially interesting given how much his music drew almost entirely from American influences such as '60s Brill Building pop, New Orleans/Cajun, R&B, and an inner city Latin style best exemplified in a sizzling version of Demasiado Corazon.

    Many of his heavy hitters are present in fired-up versions, sometimes even better than the studio originals. Get hip on his great renditions of Venus Of Avenue D, Love And Emotion, Demasiado Corazon, Spanish Stroll and a splendid version of the all time classic Hey Joe.

    This compilation is now available on vinyl for the first time!

    LP 1
    1. Venus Of Avenue D
    2. This Must Be The Night
    3. Love And Emotion
    4. Savoir Faire
    5. Just To Walk That Little Girl Home
    6. Mixed Up, Shook Up Girl
    7. Slave To Love
    8. Slow Drain
    9. Demasiado Corazon (too Much Heart)

    LP 2
    1. Little Girl
    2. Storybook Love
    3. Can't Do Without It
    4. Hey Joe
    5. Just Your Friends
    6. Steady Drivin' Man
    7. Cadillac Walk
    8. Spanish Stroll

    Willy DeVille
    180 Gram Audiophile Virgin Vinyl LP - 2 LPs Sealed Buy Now
  • 1
Go to top